« PrécédentContinuer »
Controversy on future punishment, 163; installations and dedications, 168; new
FROM MR. B.'S BECOMING EDITOR AGAIN TO THE REMOVAL OF REV.
Correspondence with Jacob Tidd, 189; Mr. B. again an editor, 193; pastoral
Rev. Mr. Streeter removes to Boston, 262; The First Inquiry, 263; Mr. Ballou on
Anecdotes, 287; the 24th and 25th chapters of Matthew, 290; ordination of Rev.
Southern Association at Dana, 325; Balfour's Second Inquiry, 327; death of Dea.
MR. BALLOU'S FIRST LABORS IN BOSTON; CONTROVERSIES THAT ENSUED; INFLUENCE OF HIS LABORS IN THE COUNTRY.
FROM DECEMBER 1817 TO JULY 1819.
THE events of these few months were to Mr. Ballou so interesting, and were so important in their influences, that, although occupying but a small portion of time, we give them a distinct chapter.
-THE NEW SOCIETY IN BOSTON.
We have come now to the most active and useful part of Mr. Ballou's life. He removed to Boston in the month of November, 1817. The Second Universalist Society in that town had grown out of a want long felt. The site of the meeting-house in which the First Universalist Society worshipped, although a good one in 1785, when the Universalists purchased it, was felt to be out of the centre; for the town was fast being settled in the south and west parts, and no small number of the Universalists had removed thither. But still another fact made a new society desirable to many. The pastor of
the First Society (Rev. Paul Dean) did not give his attention so much to the doctrines of the gospel as a large and very respectable portion of his parishioners felt it desirable that he should do. These facts, added to the strong belief that the time had come for the formation of another society, and that it could be done without any material injury to the First, induced a body of gentlemen in 1816 to petition for an act of incorporation, as the "Second Universalist Society in Boston." The act was regularly passed and signed by the Governor, Dec. 13th, and the first meeting under it was holden January 25th, 1817. Immediate measures were taken to find a site and erect a house of worship, which things were done in the course of the summer and fall of the lastnamed year, and the house in School-street was dedicated on the 16th of October. The writer remembers.
*This site in part is the precise spot on which the old French church formerly stood, and in the pulpit of which Mr. Murray was stoned in 1774. This French church was built somewhere about 1715-20. In 1748 the society that built it was dissolved, and it was sold to a society of high spiritual pretensions, called the New Congregational Society. They invited Rev. Mr. Croswell, of Groton, Conn., to become their pastor, the same individual who bears so conspicuous a part in the Life of Murray. Thomas Handasyde Peck (the maternal grandfather of the late venerable Thomas H. Perkins) was, at the time, one of the trustees of Mr. Croswell's society, who purchased this house. He adhered to John Murray, and it was probably by his influence that Mr. Murray was admitted to preach in the house. He preached there only a few times. Mr. Croswell died in 1785, at which time, it is supposed, the society became extinct. In 1788, a Roman Catholic congregation, which had been gathered three or four years before, obtained this house, and worshipped in it until they built the church in Franklinstreet, which was dedicated in 1803. The old meeting-house in Schoolstreet was then taken down, and the land was subsequently sold to the Second Universalist Society.