Images de page
PDF
ePub

in promoting their solid and permanent interests: and it may be safely affirmed, that the present flourishing condition of some of these institutions, is, in no small degree, to be attributed to the influence of his suggestion and advice.

But amiable as he was in private life, or useful in public, there was one trait in his character and conduct, which, while it surpassed, also illuminated all his other virtues. Mr. Poyntell was a sincere CHRISTIAN" the highest style of man.” His was a religion both vital and practical; not ostentatious or austere. He practised as well as professed all the christian duties; and by his example, in the bosom of his family, amid the circle of his friends, and throughout all his public avocations, he forcibly impressed a veneration for the name and attributes of the MOST HIGA. It was these principles, early imbibed and scrupulously eultivated, that in the trying and awful moments of mortal dissolution, imparted calmness and equanimity to his mind. It was such a faith, and such conduct, that robbed death of his sting, and the grave of her victory.

Few men have lived so long with more usefulness, and with less reproach; and few, very few indeed, have had their transition from this fleeting world hallowed with deeper or more general regrets; or had those regrets assuaged by a firmer assurance of his being translated " to a world not made with hands, eternal in the heavens."

[graphic][merged small][merged small][merged small]
[blocks in formation]

MONUMENT ON BEACON HILL, BOSTON.

THE eminence now called Beacon Hill, is the most elevated point of a range of hilly ground, which runs from east to west in the south westerly part of the peninsula of Boston; it is of a regular conical form, and is elevated about one hundred feet above the level of the sea; the state house stands on its southern declivity, and faces the common, an undulating plain of fifty acres, surrounded on three sides with elegant buildings, and public walks. The remainder of the range of hills to the west, which was naturally broken and irregular, has been regulated by art, and its declivities are the scene of the latest ornamental improvements of the town, and bear the name of Mount Vernon.

Beacon Hill was selected by the first settlers of Boston as a commanding station for military observation. We find by the public records that a street was laid out in 1640, eight years after the first establishment of the town, to lead up to Century Hill, and there was then reserved for public use, a space of six rods square on its summit; the contiguous lands were granted as pasture grounds to the influential men of that day.

[blocks in formation]

The name of Century Hill was retained till after 1670, between that time and 1681, it was changed to Beacon Hill, when a mast was raised on its highest point, well braced at the foot, and bearing on its top an iron frame, to receive a barrel of combustibles, to be fired to alarm the country in case of invasion. This beacon was repaired as occasion required until 1775, when it was taken down by the British troops, and the hill was again made a military station. A small square fort was built there, with one or two heavy cannon. Upon the evacuation of the town in 1776, the breastworks on the hill were levelled, and a new beacon raised, which was blown down by a storm in 1790. The establishment of the general government having diffused confidence into the minds of the citizens, and all fears of invasion being happily removed, a Dorick Column, sixty feet high, was erected, as exhibited in the plate; it was built of brick, covered with stucco, with foundation and mouldings of stone. The die of the pedestal contained four large pannels with inscriptions. The design of the column and the inscriptions were by Charles Bulfinch, Esq.

This hill has ever been a favourite place of resort for the inhabitants of Boston, and one of the most attractive spots for the visits of strangers: the views are considered equal to those most celebrated in the European world. But the erection of the state house, on the south side, and several dwelling houses, on the east, having circumscribed the prospect; and private claimants, having by course of law, recovered possession of all but the original scite of six rods square, the column has been taken down, and the hill is rapidly digging away to the level of the foundation of the state house; the same beautiful views are still to be seen from this edifice, but the curious stranger is obliged to ascend to the cupola above the dome, to enjoy the whole circuit of the horizon.

The following are the inscriptions from the pedestal of the column.

« PrécédentContinuer »